Human Distinctiveness Follow-up Summer Seminar


June 2–4, 2016

This three-day event is a follow-up to the 2015 Human Distinctiveness Summer Seminar, which provided 13 theologians with a working knowledge of anthropological theories, methods, and practice, with the goal of equipping them to integrate this knowledge into their theological research. These theologians gather one year later to present new research, to receive feedback from peers, and to further collaborations. 


  • Rhodora Beaton, Associate Professor of Liturgical and Sacramental Theology, Aquinas Institute of Theology
  • John Berkman, Professor of Moral Theology, Regis College, University of Toronto
  • Oliver Davies, Emeritus Professor of Christian Doctrine, Kings College London
  • Todd Hanneken, Associate Professor of Theology, St. Mary's University 
  • James Helmer, Assistant Professor of Theology, Xavier University
  • Joel Hodge, Senior Lecturer, Theology, Australian Catholic University
  • Nicola Hoggard Creegan, Theologian, New Zealand
  • Philip Rolnick, Professor of Theology, University of St. Thomas
  • Eugene Rogers, Professor of Religious Studies, UNC-Greensboro
  • Barbara Rossing, Professor of New Testament, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
  • Timothy Sandoval, Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible, Brite Divinity School, Texas Christian University
  • Arthur Walker-Jones, The United Church of Canada Research Chair in Contemporary Theology, University of Winnipeg


Thursday, June 2, 2016

18:00     Opening Reception

Friday, June 3, 2016

08:15  Breakfast 
09:00  Presentation – Arthur Walker Jones
09:45  Presentation – Timothy Sandoval 
10:30  Break
11:00  Presentation – Barbara Rossing 
11:45  Presentation – Todd Hanneken 
12:30  Lunch
14:00  Presentation – Gene Rogers 
14:45  Presentation – James Helmer 
15:30  Presentation – John Berkman 
16:15  Break
18:00  Dinner

Saturday, June 4, 2016

08:15. Breakfast
09:00  Presentation – Philip Rolnick 
09:45  Presentation – Joel Hodge
10:30  Break
11:00  Presentation – Nicola Hoggard Creegan 
11:45  Presentation – Oliver Davies 
12:30  Lunch
14:00  Presentation – Rhodora Beaton
14:45  Wrap-up Session – Agustín Fuentes and Celia Deane-Drummond
16:30  Break
18:00  Dinner

This event has been made possible by support from the John Templeton Foundation.